Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Senior Member Cefiar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    OS
    Android
    Posts
    782

    Times in the game

    So just before the usual restart (Clan restart day), I noticed the "Server Restart" warning.

    The time there said 10:00 PST.

    Issues with this:
    1. PST isn't a currently valid timezone. That area is currently PDT.
    2. 10:00 PST doesn't even work out to be the time of the reset (which is 00:00 UTC).

    FWIW: Currently 17:00 PDT, 20:00 EDT, 01:00 BST due to daylight savings. It's also 10:00 AEST, 12:00 NZST, 21:00 BRT, etc.

    Can we please just have times shown in UTC?

    This is a global game. It makes sense to either show the times in the users timezone, or at the very least in UTC.

    Note: My guess is someone changed it previously for a different reset time (ie: it's part of the message text, so not dynamically inserted), and no one bothered to change it back when setting up future resets.
    Cef-6313
    "To summarise the summary of the summary: people are a problem" - Douglas Adams

    Clan - Frogs of War

  2. #2
    Senior Member Cefiar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    OS
    Android
    Posts
    782
    Restart message is wrong again. Says 10:00 PST.
    Cef-6313
    "To summarise the summary of the summary: people are a problem" - Douglas Adams

    Clan - Frogs of War

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    OS
    Android
    Posts
    16
    It's not necessarily wrong. There is still a use for both PST and PDT as not all areas observe daylight savings time. I do agree however that maybe including both local and UTC time would be beneficial.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •